Where were you?

 

Where were you on September 11, 2001?

I was a senior in high school. School had just begun for the day. I was in the library doing some research for a Chemistry project. My teacher had left the library not long after our class came in and all of sudden he came running through the door. Breathless, he told us that a plane had just flown into a tower at the World Trade Center. I sat there in shock.

Later that morning, we asked our teachers if we could watch the news. I remember my math teacher letting us watch it for a little while and other teachers wouldn’t let us watch at all.

In the days that followed, the school played patriotic music over the intercom as we changed classes. I remember how sad it was, how sad I was, how sad everyone was.

Several years ago, I went on vacation to New York with my mom and godmother. We had plans to do some sightseeing which included Ground Zero. I was excited about seeing it but I knew it would be an entirely different feeling once I was there. Ground Zero was surprisingly very peaceful. The fountains were beautiful as were the bronze panels that held the name of every person who lost their life in the 9/11 tragedy as well as the bombing from 1993. I wandered away from my mom and godmother just to walk around and look down into the fountains and take a few pictures. I saw a man place a badge next to one of the engraved names and take pictures. I saw families placing flowers down inside their loved one’s names. I saw people lay long pieces of paper over names and use pencils to shade their names onto the paper. Then it hit me. I cried. I couldn’t move. All I could do was stand there and cry. I was completely overcome with sadness. I couldn’t help thinking what it must have been like to be working in one of those towers one minute and have a plane flying into it the next. I couldn’t imagine having to run down the stairs from 20, 30, 40, or 50 floors up only to have the building come crashing down on me. I couldn’t imagine being a firefighter, police officer or first responder and dig through the debris to try to find survivors or the deceased.

While I very much enjoyed visiting the 9/11 Memorial, I hope I never have to see another tragedy like that in my lifetime. I have a deeper appreciation for those who serve and protect us each and every day. September 11, 2001 will be a day that I will never forget nor will I ever forget those who lost their lives and loved ones that day.

9-11

Leave a comment